I wish, I should, I must

Over the last month at Glenfair for the Wednesday night program that we facilitate for kids we have been using J12’s curriculum to teach children what Jesus meant when he said, “I must be about my Father’s business” in Luke 2:49. One of our lessons was on having the “I-must” Spirit in our lives. When our actions are motivated by God’s love we will be compelled to do our best for him to love him, others, and ourselves in healthy ways.

One of the big lessons that I got from The Justice Conference is to stop saying “I should.” Instead, we must say “Let’s Go!” So I’m here in Long Beach waiting to visit a friend and I’m working on thinking about the things I wish would happen in my church and neighborhood, what I have been saying that I should do, and then putting the action points into “I-must” terms. I would encourage you to think about doing this with your own pursuit for justice, personal development, and leadership strategy. Please pray for me as I go back to Portland this week to continue to be determined to act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with God in my personal life and ministry to model to others how we do that together.

Let me know what you think!

