Why I don’t like the word “Volunteer”

As I begin into my second week as the children’s pastor at Glenfair Church I was very excited to have such a willing crew of leaders who want to help serve the preschool and elementary children in our congregation. Although, I have really had to try and resist to use the term “volunteer” when speaking about the wonderful people who want to invest in the spiritual formation of the kids we serve.

Our goal is to connect kids to God’s story through relationships. I don’t want to use the word “volunteer” because I don’t think that the Bible wants us to volunteer. God wants us to serve which requires us to go beyond an average scheduled time or job description to really considering others better than ourselves (Phil. 2) and going the extra mile to make people understand that we consider them valuable because God loves them and calls us to be a part of loving them for him to make disciples (Matt. 28).

What is your opinion? Does it really matter or is it just semantics? Also, if you’re involved with ministry in your church what do they call adult leaders?

Let me know what you think!

