Keeping Eternity In Mind

Live your life like you believe in eternity- Francis Chan

This quote was something that I heard Francis Chan say at The Justice Conference in 2012 two months before my wife Jennica went home to Jesus. After we heard him say this we were constantly reevaluating how we could live our lives to keep eternity in mind because we wanted everyone we came into contact with to be changed by God’s love and given eternal hope for a home in Heaven.

Last week my Dad and I saw Steven Curtis Chapman perform a concert in Portland and he shared about his little girl, Maria, who went to be home with the Lord. It was very touching to see and hear how God has helped him process his grief. It made me think about how God has used this blog, assignments from school, and my friends to help me cry, talk, and think through all the pain that my loss has brought.

Well this last week a very kind and loving friend of mine passed away and went to be with the Lord. I knew her from my youth group days in junior high and high school. I think the last time I remember hanging out with her and a bunch of other friends was at a college group during my spring break. She was always a gentle and compassionate person to everyone she met, spreading God and his love to people she met and knew. This is definitely a hard time for my friends, her family, and the church she was a part of. I’ve even cried and prayed a lot for her and her family because I know a bit of what it feels like to lose someone you love.  I also know that the Holy Spirit works in people to remind them of the eternal hope we have in Christ.

I want to use this post to say that as people and as Christians it is very difficult to understand why God allows people who are serving him to suffer and die, but also to remind everyone that we must have the attitude of Paul in Philippians 3:13-14: “Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,  I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

God has prepared a glorious home for us to live in perfect unity. I want to share a song that Steven Curtis Chapman played last week and hope that it is an encouragement and gives you room to grieve any losses you may have experienced in your own life. God Bless!

2 thoughts on “Keeping Eternity In Mind

Let me know what you think!

