Care and Comfort Ministry Suggestions

As a person who has gone through grief I was encouraged by this list of ten suggestions for people who are doing care and comforting ministry to friends, neighbors, and church members.

Suggestions for comforters:

  1. Those who really comforted me treated me as a unique individual and did not presue to know how I felt.
  2. Speak from the heart or not at all.
  3. They come knowing that it was important for me to talk about my feelings if I felt like it.
  4. They took their cues from me during the conversation.
  5. They intuitively knew, or had learned along the way that talk doesn’t have to fill the air all the time. Light irrelevant talk may be painful for the newly bereaved.
  6. They were able to use touch appropriately
  7. They realized that I didn’t need a Bible study when I questioned “Why?” It was a cry of anguish and did not require an intellectual response.
  8. They cried with me.
  9. They asked me what I would like to do- accepting my need of a fallow time during the transition in my life.
  10. Caring must be from the inside out to be authentic.

What would you add? Why?

Let me know what you think!

