Jesus is enough

Recently I have had the privilege to start being a part of a weekly jam session with some students from youth group. I bring my electric guitar and have learned quite a few things from them. It is so much fun because we all get together to play worship songs and whatever other little riffs and rhythms that we can put together. I think one of my favorite songs to play with the group right now is “Your Grace Is Enough.” I like that song because it continues to remind me that despite my insufficiency, mistakes, and even achievements that God’s grace is what holds me together. I don’t write this as an expert, but I humbly admit that I am quite a failure at  living out this truth because I want to do things to be good enough. I am quite often reminded of my own inability and my need to look to Jesus to cover and sanctify me from my own pride, despair, and wandering.

Most often these feelings that I need Jesus to vanquish with the truth, come when I am trying to figure out what God wants me to do with my life and how to get there. Then I see friends getting their breaks into ministry jobs and other things that excite them because of their interests or gifts. When I am feeling anxious, I have to be reminded that getting my dream job or being the best doesn’t make me valuable in the eternal scheme of things. I am reminded of Hanani’s words to King Asa in 2 Chronicles 16:9, “For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to shew himself strong in the behalf of them whose heart is perfect toward him” (KJV).

In the end, I want my heart to be set towards Christ and remain faithful by the help of the Holy Spirit I will continue to trust in his plan for my life in all aspects of vocation, relationships, and how to use my gifts as I follow Christ. As Tullian Tchividjian has succinctly titled a book- “Jesus + Nothing = Everything”

Let that be said of us!

Let me know what you think!

