Remembering Narnia: a post for appreciating Dr. G

College graduations are always exciting to attend, especially when you know lots of people in the class and you can cheer for them. I have been in and around the Multnomah University undergraduate and seminary for the last five years and have not missed a graduation. I graduated in 2011 and am looking forward to doing it again next May.

The season of graduation is always filled with excitement, as well as sadness of transitions out to the “real world.”

One of Multnomah’s beloved professor’s Garry Friesen, Dr. G, is giving the commencement address, as he is retiring at the end of this school year. It is sad to see him go, but I also am very excited to hear about his new opportunity to go teach the Bible in Rwanda.

Dr. G is a superb teacher, author, and mentor to many people. I made my decision to go to Multnomah based off of a lecture that he gave about the priestly robes in Leviticus in November 2007. Though I was never able to have a class with him in my undergraduate days, he was a big encouragement in my life during the loss of my wife when he opened his home to me to stay in for the summer of 2012.

I enjoyed living at “The How”, Dr. G’s house that is Narnia-themed because of his love for all things C.S. Lewis. The dinners, discussions, relationships, and prayers that were invested in one another gave me a unique environment to grieve and process. I think what I most enjoy about Dr. G and will miss when he leaves, is hearing his stories and responses that usually result in some good laughs or reflection. He is one of the most humble people I have had the chance to learn from by watching him striving to live for Christ and loving others.

If you haven’t ever read any of his books you should. I have especially enjoyed his new book “Lion Sightings In the Rose City.” Dr. G will be greatly missed by all students and staff at Multnomah because of his dedication to teach and share Christ with excellence.

One thought on “Remembering Narnia: a post for appreciating Dr. G

Let me know what you think!

