Deuteronomy passages- I Was A Stranger

Since I have been working hard on schoolwork and hardly working on the blog, I thought I would post on the rest of the Old Testament passages that have a reference to the alien or foreigner by genre. I will finish the Deuteronomy passages that are left, then the Wisdom literature, and finally the prophetic books. Then I will continue to deal with each of the New Testament passages on an individual basis.

Here are the rest of the passages covered that are found in Deuteronomy:

Deuteronomy 24:17-19

Do not deprive the foreigner or the fatherless of justice, or take the cloak of the widow as a pledge. Remember that you were slaves in Egypt and the Lord your God redeemed you from there. That is why I command you to do this. When you are harvesting in your field and you overlook a sheaf, do not go back to get it. Leave it for the foreigner, the fatherless and the widow, so that the Lord your God may blessyou in all the work of your hands.

Deuteronomy 26:12

When you have finished setting aside a tenth of all your produce in the third year, the year of the tithe, you shall give it to the Levite, the foreigner, the fatherless and the widow, so that they may eat in your towns and be satisfied.

Deuteronomy 27:19

Cursed is anyone who withholds justice from the foreigner,the fatherless or the widow.”

Then all the people shall say, “Amen!”

I would really encourage you to read all of Deuteronomy. It is one of my favorite books in the Old Testament. I think part of the reason I like it so much is that it was preached as a sermon to the Israelites in a call to them by Moses to walk humbly, faithfully, and in relationship with God and to deal with one another rightly. Reading it all the way through will show you God’s faithfulness, love, and perseverance in the face of leading so many rebellious and misguided people.

Since I have been working hard on schoolwork and hardly working on the blog, I thought I would post on the rest of the Old Testament passages that have a reference to the alien or foreigner by genre. I will finish the Deuteronomy passages that are left, then the Wisdom literature, and finally the prophetic books. Then I will continue to deal with each of the New Testament passages on an individual basis.

Here are the rest of the passages covered that are found in Deuteronomy:

Deuteronomy 24:17-19

Do not deprive the foreigner or the fatherless of justice, or take the cloak of the widow as a pledge. Remember that you were slaves in Egypt and the Lord your God redeemed you from there. That is why I command you to do this. When you are harvesting in your field and you overlook a sheaf, do not go back to get it. Leave it for the foreigner, the fatherless and the widow, so that the Lord your God may blessyou in all the work of your hands.

Deuteronomy 26:12

When you have finished setting aside a tenth of all your produce in the third year, the year of the tithe, you shall give it to the Levite, the foreigner, the fatherless and the widow, so that they may eat in your towns and be satisfied.

Deuteronomy 27:19

Cursed is anyone who withholds justice from the foreigner,the fatherless or the widow.”

Then all the people shall say, “Amen!”

I would really encourage you to read all of Deuteronomy. It is one of my favorite books in the Old Testament. I think part of the reason I like it so much is that it was preached as a sermon to the Israelites in a call to them by Moses to walk humbly, faithfully, and in relationship with God and to deal with one another rightly. Reading it all the way through will show you God’s faithfulness, love, and perseverance in the face of leading so many rebellious and misguided people. He loves his people and desires to be worshiped and loved by them as well.

Passage 13

Let me know what you think!

