At the end of the day…the Gospel

So I don’t know if I really have mentioned this yet, but I love Apple products! I have an iPhone and a MacBook Air. I think the next product I want to purchase is an iPad. In fact, just the other day I was at the Apple store with some friends sharing my knowledge of Apple technology and all of it’s perks and exciting features. I was really excited. I think I even used the statement “Once you’ve converted to Apple, there’s no going back because it’s just so great!”

Yesterday I was thinking about this interaction that I had. Then I was thinking about it in the context of ministry. What if I was just as excited about the Gospel every time I talk about it, just like when I talk about the technology that I have? Dallas Theological Seminary professor Howard Hendricks is credited with saying “It is a sin to bore people with the gospel.”

From now on I will be remembering my experience at the Apple store and Hendricks’ saying, and pray that God would help me to effectively communicate his love, truth, grace, and mercy that he has poured out for us through his son Jesus Christ in my words and life. We must remember that “God so loved the world he gave his one and only begotten son that whoever believes in him will not perish but have everlasting life” (John 3:16).

It’s like an adult leader at youth group said this last month: “We need to teach and live like other lives matter because they do!”

Application for today:

Think of three people that you can begin praying for who don’t know Jesus yet. Make time to get to know them and share life together. Hopefully they will see Christ in you and want to know what the reason for your hope is even when life is hard.

Support local and international missions by praying and giving financially.

Learn The Four Spiritual Laws or another evangelistic method and share your faith regularly.

Let me know what you think!

