Bible reading- Week 3 (early)

So I have to post about my Bible reading today because this weekend is crazy. Today at church we start our after-school tutoring program for middle school students; tomorrow and Sunday I will be in Sisters, OR for the New Wine, New Wineskins retreat where we will discuss our projects of engaging culture relevantly through a biblical Trinitarian ethical model; then Sunday and Monday I will be at a youth intern retreat. I am looking forward to all of these events, because I know it will be good for growing in my faith and connecting in relationship with others as well.

This week I was reminded of the story of Jacob. Jacob is such an inspiring story to me. God takes this thieving, lying, youngest brother on a journey that transforms his character, and the LORD covenants with him and blesses him and his offspring. Then in the Psalms I think one of the most encouraging reading I’ve done was today in Psalm 18. God is the protector and the rock. In life when everything is falling apart we can trust in him to be our shield. I know that sounds very abstract, but think about it in light of having the armor of God. He protects us from the devil’s schemes, he gives us the tools we need when we are going through hard times through his Word and the comfort of the Spirit by the Father’s love. In Matthew, Jesus was transfigured, and spent time sharing parables about forgiveness and analogies about child-like faith.

I think the theme of forgiveness is something that God has really put on my heart this week. I need to learn how to give and receive forgiveness better. Last night I watched the movie The Samaritan with Samuel L. Jackson. All of the violence and relational problems in that movie really showed me the importance and power of forgiveness. If the characters in that movie could have chosen forgiveness, peoples’ lives could have been spared and real justice may have been able to have been accomplished.

Here’s this week’s reading:

Jan. 20: Gen. 39-40; Ps. 20; Matt. 20

Jan. 21: Gen. 41-42; Ps. 21; Matt. 21

Jan. 22: Gen. 43-44; Ps. 22; Matt. 22

Jan. 23: Gen. 45-46; Ps. 23; Matt. 23

Jan. 24: Gen. 47-48; Ps. 24; Matt. 24

Jan. 25: Gen. 49-50; Ps. 25; Matt. 25

Jan. 26: Ex. 1-2; Ps. 26; Matt. 26

Also, have a happy Martin Luther King Jr. Day…may you serve one another and seek justice for those who have none!

“Everybody can be great…because anybody can serve. You don’t have to have a college degree to serve. You don’t have to make your subject and verb agree to serve. You only need a heart full of grace. A soul generated by love.”

Let me know what you think!

