Reading the Bible- weekly Bible post 1

Did you know if you read 3-5 chapters of the Bible every day that you can read the whole Bible in a year? This seriously only takes 10-15 minutes a day. I would recommend beginning with prayer and just finding a quiet place to read. Don’t take too much time trying to do a study, if you find something interesting, go back and look at it at another time.

I was given a prayer and Bible reading calendar by a mentor. I want to post every week’s reading and then short reflections that I had on reading. This is a great spiritual formation exercise. If you want to join me that would be awesome!

Jan. 1: Gen. 1-2; Ps. 1; Matt. 1

Jan. 2: Gen. 3-4; Ps. 2; Matt. 2

Jan. 3: Gen. 5-7; Ps. 3; Matt. 3

Jan. 4: Gen. 8-9; Ps. 4; Matt. 4

Jan. 5: Gen. 10-11; Ps. 5; Matt. 5

Short reflection: From the beginning, God has been working his story of redemption to bring about the redemption of the world through his incarnation. As I read the story of Noah and the flood, Gen. 6:9 stood out to me: “This is the account of Noah. Noah was a righteous man, blameless among the people of his time, and he walked with God.” I prayed that that would be said of me. My reading of Matthew 5 today was very good as well and I’m hoping to revisit that text even more this year than I have in the past. I truly want to hunger and thirst after the right kind of righteousness that God requires in order to be reflecting Christ and his kingdom to the world!

Here is this next weeks reading-

Jan. 6: Gen. 12-13; Ps. 6; Matt. 6

Jan. 7: Gen. 14-15; Ps. 7; Matt. 7

Jan. 8: Gen. 16-17; Ps. 8; Matt. 8

Jan. 9: Gen. 18-19; Ps. 9; Matt. 9

Jan. 10: Gen. 20-21; Ps. 10; Matt. 10

Jan. 11: Gen. 22-23; Ps. 11; Matt. 11

Jan. 12: Gen. 22-23; Ps. 12; Matt. 12

Let me know what you think!

