Goals in the New Year

This morning I met with one of my mentors, who reminded me of the importance of daily prayer and Bible reading. He gave me a daily prayer and Bible reading calendar. I have a few goals this year.

One is to be more consistent and organized in my daily prayer and Bible reading by using the calendar my mentor gave me. Second, is that I am launching an after-school ministry through the church I intern at. I want to see this ministry help the most kids and connect them with people who care about them and love Jesus. Third, I want to start sponsoring a child through an organization like World Vision or World Relief. Lastly, I want to continue to do well in my studies at Multnomah Biblical Seminary. By the end of my spring semester I will be more than half-way finished with my Master of Arts in Pastoral Studies.

This year wasn’t the greatest for me, but I know that God has used it to form me into the person who God wants me to be. There are no guarantees this year will be better, but I do know that God is working all things for my good (Rom. 8:28) and that my identity is in Christ and I am secure in who he is making me to be. What are your goals for this year and what are you doing to see them come to fulfillment? I hope you have a great New Year!

2 thoughts on “Goals in the New Year

  1. God is truly good…although we may not understand. Is it our job to understand or to just have Faith in knowing he has our backs nd is in constant control. I know this has been a tough year, and I pray that you will never have to go through one like this again. I also have seen God make changes in your heart and Faith in knowing you don’t need to be in control of everything. I pray that this next year will bring you success in all your goals and draw you even closer to God as he continues to be in charge of your life. :)

  2. It’s been a very interesting year for everyone, in my opinion. I do have to say that I’m very happy to see that, despite your year, you haven’t given up or backslid or anything like that. It’s admirable, and it should make anyone who sees it praise God for his provision.

    We share a goal, actually. I want to have a better (i.e.: existent) prayer life. I’ve actually been working on this since the middle of December and so far I’m happy to report that it’s going pretty well. I already feel closer to God and I even see and feel more of his sanctification in my own life.

    Another one is that I can be a good dad for my child when he or she comes. I still can’t believe I’m going to be a dad, and it’s an incredible blessing that I don’t deserve. I just pray that I can be a good one.

Let me know what you think!

