Blogging til the end of the world

So if the Mayans have it right (which of course they don’t…silly Mayans!) this could be my last blog post…but more seriously…any day could be our last.

I’m teaching Sunday school this week and I’m pretty excited because it’s only 2 days before Christmas. In the last few weeks I have had more students ask me questions about God and evil than I’ve had any question in these last few months of ministry. One girl said to me, “How can I believe in a God that lets bad stuff like shootings and violence happen everyday?”

Answering students’ questions about these things is important, but we must tread lightly and remember that we need to provide the truth and comfort to the people we minister to. The truth is that we live in a fallen world that is a result of original sin in the garden of Eden (Genesis 3), and that God in his love and mercy has been working everything towards his plan of redemption. While we can be saved by the death and resurrection of Jesus and God’s amazing grace, this doesn’t mean that we and those around us go untouched by the sin in the world. There will be many trials and pain, but we can know that God will never leave us or forsake us. Of course we use the Bible to come at conclusions for these questions, so study up. That is what I will be doing for my Sunday school lesson.

I hope you all have a great night and end of the world!

One thought on “Blogging til the end of the world

  1. I don’t know if you’ve ever heard of Ravi Zacharias. He’s a Christian apologist. Whenever he comes up against that question he always does something like this:

    “You’re assuming there is such a thing as evil. For there to be such a thing as evil there must be such a thing as good. If there’s such a thing as good, you’re positing a moral law, which means you’re positing a moral lawgiver. If there’s no moral lawgiver there’s no moral law, if there’s no moral law there’s no such thing as good, if there’s no such thing as good there’s no such thing as evil. So what is your question?”

    It’s a philosophical answer rather than a purely Biblical one, I guess. But it make sense to me.

Let me know what you think!

