Praying through the Psalms

I am really excited about opportunities that I have had this last month to speak to Jr. high and high school students this last month. At the end of this month I am teaching a one-hour lecture on prayer and miracles at Multnomah University for the Theology Proper section taught by Dr. Joseph Zichterman.

In doing research on these topics on top of taking a spiritual warfare class I have grown immensely in my prayer time. I think that more often than not I find myself praying through the book of Psalms. It is so helpful because the words convey the way that I feel, especially the Psalms of descent, and any chapter dealing with crying out to God for help in time of affliction. I also enjoy the praise psalms because they are so helpful in providing words to praise God when I can’t think of any.

I would recommend praying through the book of Psalms and writing observations, feelings, and conveying your heart before the Lord. Have a blessed weekend!

Let me know what you think!

