Jesus is Lord

I have to two things to admit: first, that after last night’s election of Barack Obama and sifting through all of my friends and their Facebook comments and tweets on Twitter that I sensed the same kind of disappointment that I had in my own mind. Second, I was wanting to title this post “The Most Controversial Political Statement Ever” but I decided against that because I wasn’t sure who would feel polarized or just completely apathetic and not even care.

My point is that I understand that there are many people disappointed that Mitt Romney didn’t take the presidency, not only adults, but many of the high school students that I am friends with made comments like “A moment of silence for the death of our great country” and more apathetic ones that were like “At least Christmas is only 50 days away.” I really believe that if we take a step back to understand that in the early church there was a lot of persecution from authorities because of their confession that “Jesus is Lord.” The reason that they were persecuted is because confessing Christ meant denying Cesar as Lord. The word Lord is a very political term. The World English Dictionary defines “Lord” as: “a person who has power or authority over others, such as amonarch or master.”

Some people might make the mistake of believing that Jesus is only Lord of my heart. The reality is that Jesus is Lord over the universe, which happens to include the United States government. The first chapter of Colossians has been a guide for me to adjust my attitude and remember that “he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins” (1:13-14) and “For by him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by him and for him” (1:17).

Let us continue to live our lives in prayer for our country and leaders, and remember the radical truth in God’s word that Jesus is Lord and whether things are favorable for us or not in the coming four years that we continue to live our lives out to represent God’s Gospel of love through Jesus Christ. His plan to draw all men to himself (John 12:32) hasn’t been and won’t be thwarted and the gates of Hell will not prevail against his body (Matthew 16:18), the church, no matter what person or political power or philosophy are ruling.

2 thoughts on “Jesus is Lord

  1. have to admit you made me feel better…….still…..total disbelief that so many things were ignored by so many……anyway…..thanksfor the attitude adjustment!!! love u!!

  2. Pingback: I Pledge Allegiance? | Reaching Youth for Christ

Let me know what you think!

