Honoring Women

So I haven’t posted on here in a while. Why? Life happened suddenly. Suddenly, God decided to take my wife Jennica home to be with him. April 11th I took her to the hospital from her work because she was having very bad migraines and throwing up. She ended up in the ICU and passed away early the next morning from a brain tumor that the doctors discovered. It was a shock to our whole family. I don’t know how I could be able to fully function and begin to write this blog post without the grace of God. Our loss has been so devastating, but God has shown his faithful character throughout this whole ordeal. The most comforting fact that I have is that Jennica is with the Lord and completely healed of all her diseases and pain.

This tragic experience has taught me many things, one thing I want to share about today is the importance of loving and honoring the people that we hold most dear in our lives,  and more specifically, women. All to often in our society women are made fun of through seemingly innocent jokes and objectified as sexual objects. In no way am I a saint when it comes to those categories, but I do know that it is an issue that God has been working on in my heart.

I think holidays like Mother’s Day are good days because they allow us to reflect on the blessing of life that our mother’s have shared for us. Although, I believe Mother’s Day should reflect an overall attitude, especially from Christian men, to honor all women as a life-long commitment. God tells husbands to “love your wives, just as Christ loved the church” (Ephesians 5:25). Paul exhorts Timothy to “Treat younger men as brothers, older women as mothers, and younger women as sisters, with absolute purity” (1 Tim. 5:1-2). Children are to “Honor your father and mother” (Exodus 20:12).  What more do I have to say?

Women should be treasured and cared for because they are all beautiful and precious. In my own life I have come to see those traits reflected in every woman. Being physically attractive is only half the equation. Every woman has a beautiful and precious heart, and we know that it’s the heart that matters to the Lord (see 1 Samuel 16:7). Don’t just meaninglessly go and pick up a bouquet of flowers and a card this Mother’s Day. Make whatever you do meaningful to your mother, and even other maternal figures in your life, so that they will know through your words and actions how you deeply care for them. Also, strive towards a godly character and make goals to honor women in your life by the way that you encourage, compliment, and care for them.

In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. – Matthew 5:16

In loving memory of Jennica Lynn Kruse, September 29, 1986-April 12, 2012.

5 thoughts on “Honoring Women

  1. I love that you stated that we should not only celebrate our mothers but also our maternal figures. Often in my life I have forgotten how precious these other women are and they go unappreciated. I also believe that our society should not just wait till mothers day, valentines day, grandparents day, or fathers day to celebrate and outwardly show appreciation for the wonderful people we have in our lives. Strive to show love everyday and respect multiple times a day. Then when the unexpected happens they know they are loved and respected. And we will not feel like they never knew. We do not know our days ahead but we should know that we are loved.

    Thanks for the post Andrew and and making me think. Also thank you for respecting me as one of the sisters in your life.

  2. Andrew, thank you so much for this post. Your grace during this difficult time has been thought provoking and awe inspiring. Your commitment to the women in your life and to the memory of a dear sister in Christ is wonderful to see. I pray that comfort and love surround you not just for a few months but for the rest of your life. I also pray that the memory of Jennica keeps moving not only you but all who knew her.
    Prayers and love
    P.s. hope you don’t mind but I’m going to reblog this post?

  3. Reblogged this on madewithpurpose and commented:
    This post is from the husband of one of my dear friends who past away in April. Please read and show your support to an amazing man who lost his wife a year after they got married. Let the Family of God unite around those who sorrow.

  4. Pingback: Your Birthday In Heaven | Reaching Youth for Christ

  5. Pingback: Not Ready for the Resurrection | Reaching Youth for Christ

Let me know what you think!

