Why marriage is important

So recently I have been thinking of how to respond to the issue of gay marriage and instead of thinking about a bunch of reasons about how gay marriage is wrong, I started asking myself the question “What makes marriage so sacred that it can’t be expanded to allow for gay couples to take part in (or at least have unions)?”
I guess the reason that I had this question is because I want to be informed about the arguments for and against gay marriage and what the purpose of marriage is.
So I started looking through the Bible. I began with Genesis, the book of origins, and immediately in chapter 2 I noticed that God made Eve for Adam as a suitable helper. Therefore, God, as the one who ordained marriage, knows how it should perfectly work hence the definition :

That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh. Gen. 2:24

I also remembered the Romans 1 passage (vv.24-28) that states

Because of this, God gave them over to shameful lusts. Even their women exchanged natural sexual relations for unnatural ones. In the same way the men also abandoned natural relations with women and were inflamed with lust for one another. Men committed shameful acts with other men, and received in themselves the due penalty for their error.
Furthermore, just as they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, so God gave them over to a depraved mind, so that they do what ought not to be done.

I know there are alot of other passages that I could choose to talk about but these are two strong passages that I have studied and really helped me come to a consensus about these issues.
Here it goes:
The Bible is God’s word and the descriptions and prescriptions that God gives on lifestyle choices such as marriage and sexuality are clearly spelled out. While we as Christians should not support gay marriage or lifestyle, this doesn’t mean we should not engage gay, lesbian, and transgender people in a loving way that displays Christ to them. This also means we must denounce “Christian” groups that are targeting homosexuals with messages of hate and not properly being active against the actual issue of gay marriage.
I am concerned when I hear that Christians just want to give up on trying to retain God’s definition of marriage in our country and just make sure that we “teach our children how to live purely and that homosexuality is bad”…what goes on in society will eventually effect some children negatively so we must teach purity and biblical principles while showing the next generation that it is important to stand up for our beliefs instead of being apathetic and standing by while Christian values are crumbling and being mocked at a variety of levels of society. I found a map of which states have allowed gay marriage (dark blue). View it here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Samesex_marriage_in_USA.svg

Pray for our country to retain God’s definition of marriage and that Christians would love others so that they could abandon the darkness and come into the light!

One thought on “Why marriage is important

Let me know what you think!

