The role of prayer in Suffering

So I hope that you didn’t come away from yesterday from Theology of Suffering Part 2 (http://wp.me/p1oVBU-8y) depressed, but I hope that you were encouraged to ask God to give you a more compassionate heart towards those around you.
I believe that the way we can develop a more compassionate heart is to pray that God will help us to develop more sensitivity towards people who are hurting, and make the effort to address people personally with words of encouragement and offering help if it’s needed or appropriate. I think the hardest thing to do is to ask for help; that is why we must be aware of the people we are around.
I think in our culture it may not always be physical suffering but there are many who suffer emotionally, mentally, socially, spiritually, and economically. Like I’ve said before God doesn’t always do what we want and he will allow us to go through hardships in order to become more mature and closer to Him, but I do believe that through prayer and relationships we can be helpful to people who are hurting by drawing closer to them and God together. Paul makes it clear in 2 Corinthians 1 that God uses the situations we go through in order to comfort one another.
Some may ask, what about miracles such as healing? My response is that all things are possible with God. I have seen him touch people with diseases, healing them. I have seen him restore people’s relationships with one another. The Holy Spirit is here to comfort and guide us through our life so we can become more like Christ and to impart Christ’s love and healing through prayer. Although, healing may not be instantaneous or happen at all we should trust that God knows why he is allowing people to go through certain situations.
I want to challenge you to ask God what it means for you personally to act in faith through prayer and relationship for people who are suffering and to rejoice whether or not healing occurs.

Let me know what you think!

