Resting with Jesus

So I just read an article in Neue Magazine, a magazine that discusses ideas that are shaping the church. Josh Lujan Loveless discusses the importance of pastoral rest from the stresses that ministry incur.
This is a good reminder for me in my personal ministry and because I want to work within a pastoral role in the church:

We as a pastoral community are not rested. Yet we are promised rest by the Rabbi we follow. It’s obvious we’ll all be weary and burdened at some point, but He is saying if we aren’t rested, we have a Jesus problem. If we aren’t rested, it’s because we aren’t pastoring our churches with Jesus. You’re tired because you’re alone working on your church without Jesus. Don’t blame me if you don’t like that. Blame Jesus for saying it.

Jesus said in Matthew 11:28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

Rest in the Savior, take time to commune with God. In turn, develop your leaders with this attitude and help them feel that they are in an environment where they can feel that it’s acceptable to take a break from ministry. In fact, this summer my wife and I will be taking a break from serving in our youth group every week because we are going to take some special time to connect with God and ask for His vision for our ministry in His kingdom. If you want to check out the article, check out my Twitter feed at the bottom of my page…it’s titled: “Success” and “stress” aren’t synonymous. Here’s why rest is the most important part of your ministry

Hope it is a helpful resource for you.

Let me know what you think!

