Weakness

So one of my friends tweeted this morning:

“Thats why I take pleasure in my weaknesses…For when I am weak, then I am strong.” God call me to my weaknesses! I want to be used by you.

Quoting 2 Corinthians 12:10, it made me think about how God used Paul, even in his weakness, to do the work of the gospel among people who were persecuting him, and to the Corinthians who gave a bad name to Christianity with their licensiousness and immorality.

It made me think about my ministry and the people I minister to. In my life, like Paul’s, God’s grace is sufficient for me and his power is made perfect in my weakness. These weaknesses can be from when I give a lame sermon or when I can’t think of a good joke to fill the time. God can use us and challenge us by the weaknesses we have. They could be personal characteristics, spiritual hardships, or your life situation. Whatever the case may be, be encouraged that through your inablility God is able to do more than all we can fathom. This could mean, as in the Apostle Paul’s case, that he allows you to live with this weakness or it could mean that it is an area that you could improve in. Before “fixing yourself” (which never works by the way), call on God in prayer, read his Word, and listen for his voice to speak a direction, share your hardship with a leader or an accountability partner (if you don’t have one, get one!). Let God use you where you are and trust that he will use it for his glory. Testify to his faithfulness and goodness in your life.
I know that personally God has really showed me his faithfulness and goodness by providing for me while in school and getting married right in the middle of everything happening.
Encourage your students to think about where God might want to work in their lives as a way to challenge them to grow in prayer, reading the Word, and getting into an accountability relationship. You might also use this for youth volunteers to challenge them to mentor the students in your ministry in how to get deeper in prayer and Bible reading. Get parents on board with this so that they can have discussions with their kids about what they struggle with. Sometimes, when an adult admits weaknesses it can empower the kids and students to have hope and see a testimony of God right in front of them. This could be you…will you take the challenge and let God use you in your weakness?

Let me know what you think!

