Atheists better than Christians?

Check this out from the Christian Post:

Are atheists better Christians than Christians are today? Famous comedian and English actor Ricky Gervais likes to think so.

Posting a holiday message for Easter entitled “Why I’m A Good Christian” in The Wall Street Journal, Gervais, a professing atheist, revealed that he is a “good Christian” compared to a lot of Christians.

To prove his point, he outlined the Ten Commandments and analyzed how he faired against each law. Giving himself a 10 out of 10 – passing all counts of murder, idolatry, and blasphemy – Gervais considered his perfect score “not bad for an atheist.”

The thrust of his message, however, was not focused on his own tallied “goodness,” but rather the lack of goodness in Christians today.

“It’s not that I don’t believe that the teachings of Jesus wouldn’t make this a better world if they were followed,” the 49-year-old actor stated. “It’s just that they are rarely followed.”

Agreeing with Gandhi’s words – “I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians” – Gervais admitted that he too held this opinion of Christianity even when he used to believe in God as a child.

My thoughts on this are that the world has often seen a hypocritical church, yet at the same time as Christians we are still in the sanctification process and not yet perfect. Don’t beat yourself up…continue pressing on in the Lord!

Full article:

5 thoughts on “Atheists better than Christians?

  1. The world mainly sees how judgmental the church can be. It has taken on the responsibility to tell all sinners how bad they are and what they do is wrong. The problem with this is that we do the exact same things. If we did focus on just showing the love of God to everyone, and walking in the steps of Jesus, they would see us in a totally different light. If we could stop focusing on their negatives, they won’t have so much fun with ours.

    Look at the bumper sticker “Christians aren’t perfect, just forgiven.” While it’s true that we are forgiven, to a sinner it looks like an excuse to do whatever we want. That isn’t the case at all, forgiveness should be sincere, not a Plan B pill for unwanted sin.

    Wake up each day and say “Today I will do my best, but I know I will fall. However, I will not judge those who do not believe the same as me, only show them the love that God gave me when I was lost.” Remember that we were not born Christians, it took an act of faith to ask for salvation.

    It’s sad, but I agree with him. But, it doesn’t mean that I have to be one of the Christians he is talking about.

  2. While I do agree with your basic premise, I think that there are lots of times where Christians do need to take a stand about moral issues in society that might seem pretty casual and acceptable to secular society overall. This type of “judgment” is not what Christians need to be apologizing for. We need to remember to uphold God’s standard in love and be honest about our own faults and what the Bible has to say about sin and obedience to God. Thanks for your comment!

  3. I didn’t mean that Christians should have to apologize for their standards. I meant that we have had people like Jerry Falwell and the Westboro wacks going on political crusades to the point that it’s harder on us when we do fall. This is the type of “judgement” that I was talking about.

    I’ve said this many times, we need to stop trying to change people so they can get saved, and start trying to get them saved so they can change. Ultimately, it’s our job to show the love of Christ to a dying world. When we focus on that, they will see our standards and realize that we can believe in Bible without beating them over the head with it. The saying “you catch more flies with honey” comes to mind.

Let me know what you think!

